Sandeep Kumar wins Race Two of Volkswagen Polo Cup

  • Sep 20, 2012
A. Sandeep Kumar, Participant at Volkswagen Second Race walked off as the Winner, taking away the Polo R Cup victory in Round Four of second race at the JK Tyre Volkswagen Polo R Cup 2012 held at MMRT. Kumar completed the entire race in an astounding time of 20:42.175 seconds.

Saurav Bandyopadhay finished second in the same race lagging behind 3.848 seconds from the leader. Diego Duez finished at the third position 5.344 seconds behind Saurav. Sandeep started for reverse grid Race Two with a bang and with an unchallenged lead from the beginning to the end. Saurav and Diego could not match up to the levels of Kumar. This Win has made Sandeep stand close to Ameya Walavalkar in the standings who is currently the leader with 26 points more than Sandeep.

Volkswagen Polo R Cup Racecar

Ameya has maintained his lead with 276 points, followed by Sandeep, has a score of 249 points. Avdumber Hede stands on third position with 213 points followed by Rahil Noorani with 207 points and Mihir Dharkar on 201 point.

German auto-giant Volkswagen launched its stylish Polo R for the 2012 Polo R Cup. 20 young drivers competed against each other with the all new variant of Polo. The company will be using the petrol version vehicle for the first time for a racing event. In the last two years, the teams were driving diesel powered Polo’s in the competition. The first champion ship began in Coimbatore at Kari Motor Speedway on July 7th 2012. The Championship will further be taken to the next level as it will also be held at the Buddh International F1 Circuit in Noida, Uttar Pradesh.

The polo R petrol comes power-packed with a 1.4 litre 4 cylinders, direct-injection engine that churns out peak power of 180 Bhp at 6200 rpm with a maximum torque of 250 Nm at the rate of 2000-4500 rpm which delivers excellence for the best driving experience.

Featured Cars

  • Popular
  • Latest
  • Upcoming
  • Comparison
Select your city to start search
Or select from popular cities